Chair's contribution

We remember

GCB News

Bar news


From the publishers

Legal Crossword


Advocate December 2007, Vol 20, No 3. Our cover: Former Chief Justice MM Corbett remembered - page 3 of this issue.


Hennie Mellet
Tel 082 961 7696/

Editorial committee

Jannie Eksteen SC (chair)
Frank Snyckers (deputy chair)
Azhar Bham SC,
Alfred Cockrell,
Susannah Cowen,
Jannie Eksteen SC,
Sandhya Mahabeer,
Mahlape Sello,
lzak Smuts SC

Bar representatives

Bhisho: Vacant
Cape: Anton Kruger
Free State: Zachia Eloff, Henriette Murray
Grahamstown: Izak Smuts SC
Johannesburg: David Leibowitz
KwaZulu-Natal: Wendalynn Bowler, Paul Wallis, Zuleka Rasool.
Namibia: Andrew Corbett
Northern Cape: Japie Schreuder
North West: John Stander
Port Elizabeth: Peter Kroon
Pretoria: Henk Havenga
Umtata: Mathobela Shisuba

Editorial information

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 2260
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: (011) 336 3976/2486/ or
the editor directly at
082 961 7696/ (mornings)
Fax: (011) 336 8970/
Street address: 5th Floor, Schreiner Chambers,
94 Pritchard Street,
Johannesburg 2000


Annual subscription R120 (VAT incl)
Advocate, PO Box 2260,
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: +27 (011) 336 3976/337 4498/
Fax: +27 (011)336 8970/

Published by the General Council of the Bar of South Africa

Design and layout by K2
(021) 461 0002/
Printed by Hansa Print
ISSN 1683-2566
©General Council of the Bar of SA